District 17 New Haven-Rocky Point Electoral District Association

You will have the opportunity to opt for a GPPEI membership following your donation.

Key district contacts

Chair - Roy Johnstone
Financial Coordinator - Anne MacKay
Communications Coordinator - Sue Williams
Data Coordinator - Gerry Hamilton

You can contact all Coordinating Team members at  d17@peigreens.ca.

Due to Covid restrictions we had to postpone our D17 D 19 gathering planned for last March and we recently held our AGM online on November 9 th. Roy Johnstone was elected to serve a second two year term as Chairperson and Sue Williams was elected to serve a second term as Membership co-ordinator. Following the business part of the meeting Peter Bevan-Baker presented a short overview of the D 10 by-election and then answered questions from D 17 members.

About District 17

District 17 comprises communities from Kelly's Cross and Hampton in the west to Rocky Point and Clyde River in the east, and from Springton, Emyvale and Kingston in the north all the way down to the Northumberland Strait. See the detailed map of the district on Elections PEI's website.

In the April 2019 Provincial General Election there were 4,218 people registered to vote in our district; voter turnout was 84%, with 3,542 ballots cast in total.

Our Green candidate, Green Party leader Peter Bevan-Baker, received 1,869 votes, 53.7% of the total.

The Electoral District Association

District 17 has an Electoral District Association (EDA), which is part of the Green Party structure that carries out grassroots engagements with the community and helps prepare and carry out the district candidate's election campaign. The EDA is overseen by a Coordinating Team that is elected by members at annual general meetings.

If you are a member of the Green Party of PEI and live in District 17, you are a member of the D17 EDA! We'd love to hear from and involve you in what happens here.